How to apply for an EWS certificate?

EWS certificates are given to people who fall under the Economically Weaker Section (EWS) of society. EWS certificates are similar to income certificates and are not confused with caste certificates. Individuals with an EWS certificate can take advantage of a 10% reservation for the EWS sector in government jobs and higher education institutions across the country.

Under the General category, EWS is a new reservation sub-category. It is a type of reservation scheme that went into force in 2019. On January 12, 2019, the President of India signed the EWS bill. Gujarat became the first state to implement this law on January 14, 2019.

Candidates must provide a valid EWS certificate issued by the relevant authority to claim the benefit of a 10% EWS reservation in any government job or entrance to higher education.

The EWS reservation plan was introduced to provide 10% reservation in direct recruitment in civil offices and services in the Government of India to people who fall into the EWS category and are not covered by any other reservation scheme such as SC, ST, or OBC. EWS certificate is essentially an income and asset certificate granted to persons from the economically disadvantaged parts of society (EWS category under General category).

Eligibility Criteria

To take advantage of the EWS reservation benefits, check the qualifying criteria listed below to apply for the EWS Certificate-

General Category

The candidate must fall within the General category. He is not permitted to have a caste certificate in his name.

The EWS reservation is only available to candidates from the General category.

Family Income

The candidate’s annual household income must be less than Rs. 8 lakhs.

By family income, it is meant to cover all of the family’s income sources, such as agriculture, a private job, a business, a wage, and so on.

Agricultural Land

The applicant or his family may not own agricultural land of more than 5 acres.

If the candidate or his family own agricultural land, it must be less than 5 acres in size in order to qualify for EWS reservation benefits.

If the candidate fails to achieve this requirement, he will be denied the reservation advantages.

Residential Property

If a candidate or his family has a residential flat, it must be less than 100 square feet in size.

Residential Land

  1. The candidate’s or his family’s residential plot must be less than 100 square yards in a designated municipality section.
  2. The candidate’s or his family’s residential plot must be less than 200 square yards in a non-notified municipality section.

To apply for an EWS Reservation Certificate and take advantage of its benefits, the individual must meet all of the conditions listed above.

Application process

An EWS certificate application can be submitted either online or offline. It is entirely dependent on the state government. To apply online, go to the granting authority’s official website, click on the appropriate link, and then follow the on-screen instructions. States such as Andhra Pradesh give an online tool for individuals to conveniently submit applications.

Persons must collect the application form from the issuing authorities in the case of offline applications. They can also obtain the application format by visiting the official websites. This section also includes a link to the application form. They must print the application form and complete all of the requested information. They must be cautious when entering information into the form.

The format of the EWS certificate supplied by the Government of India is the same throughout the country.

Name of the state government, name of the applicant, name of the father/husband, residence, financial year, caste, and confirmed passport-sized image are all essential fields on the EWS application form.

Share on: Whatsapp

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *